Now I Can Truly Appreciate Breakfast: Naked Cafe

Naked Café
Location: Point Loma and Encinitas, CA
http://www.thenakedcafe.com

photo-1

For my birthday my boyfriend picked me up at 8 am and drove to a little strip mall off of Rosecrans Street in Point Loma. All I knew was that I was very hungry, but had no idea where we were going. When he pulled up to an almost hidden restaurant called “Naked Café,” I knew that was the first stop on his (very sweet) birthday itinerary he had planned. Brady had mentioned the Naked Café many times, telling me that his brother ate there every weekend at the Encinitas location. I was excited to finally get a chance to try it out, especially after our trip to Famous Daves worked out so well!

When we stepped inside, it was a pretty empty place, with simple tables and metal works of art (for sale) on the walls. The walls were lined with bamboo. While the atmosphere was simplistic, the menu was anything but. It took me a long time to look over their menu of mouth-watering breakfast plates, from Coconut French Toast to a Pesto Scramble and was overwhelmed by the amazing choices in front of me. We ordered orange juice while mulling over the menu. I don’t know about you, but the freshness of orange juice determines the quality of the restaurant to me. This was 100% fresh squeezed and delicious. The Naked Café was off to a great start in my book. (I ended up drinking half of Brady’s glass too).

Since I have always been a sucker for artichokes, I ordered the Artichoke Scramble. Brady ordered the Firecracker Egg White Scramble.  I have never been a huge fan of breakfast and never (ever) understood how breakfast could be the favorite meal of the day for someone, but on that Wednesday morning, I completely understood. Now I finally understand why Michelle, my best friend of 18 years, loves breakfast as much as she does. The artichoke scramble was accompanied with delicious herb potatoes, cooked to the perfect crispness on the outside and two slices of freshly baked rosemary toast. I was in HEAVEN. Brady has always loved green chilies, so he was equally as happy with his choice. I definitely want to go back soon and try some other menu items I eyed on other tables, including banana and blackberry pancakes. They also had a variety of wraps which I am sure are just as tasty.

This is one of my new favorite breakfast spots and I would recommend it to breakfast-lovers and non-breakfast-lovers alike. They are only open until 2:30, so make sure to get there before then! If you try it out, email me to let me know what you thought!

Check out my Instagram: SipSavorSeeSD

Any suggestions or comments? Email me at SipSavorSeeSD@gmail.com

Image

Leave a Reply

