Best BBQ on Wheels!

Hey SD!

I haven’t posted in a while until tonight but I had to share another something DELICIOUS that I came across this weekend- so why not upload two posts in one day?? Brady and I went to the Air Show at Gillespie Field in El Cajon that commemorated the 70th Anniversary of D-Day. We had an awesome time watching antique World War II planes fly by and I learned what a P51 Mustang was (a WWII fighter plane with a nice sounding Rolls-Royce engine). I felt honored to be among so many brave Veterans, and the entire crowd was very patriotic. I recommend going to the El Cajon or Miramar Air  Show if you have the opportunity. It was quite a touching American event.

photo 2-25 photo 1-23

After hours of walking around in the sun, we were starving, and decided to hit up one of the food trucks on site. I was in a BBQ kind of mood, and Super Q Food Truck was calling my name. They had a huge variety of BBQ sandwiches and plates, and after heavy internal debate I went with the Super Q Chicken Melt- hoping I made the right choice.

photo 5-18

Listen up BBQ fans, this sandwich was one of the best BBQ sandwiches I have ever had. Pulled BBQ chicken, mac n’ cheese (that’s right- mac n’ cheese INSIDE the sandwich), and a slice of cheddar was in between two toasted slices of sourdough bread. HEAVEN. The coleslaw was pretty darn tasty too. I was in shock at how amazing the sandwich was. The mac n’ cheese was definitely fresh- and not your typical kraft mac. I am not too interested in looking into the calories involved- slightly scared- but I can definitely say it was worth it.

photo 4-15

If you aren’t quite sure about my taste in BBQ- check them out for yourself on Yelp! Super Q Food Truck has a consistent 4 star rating and pretty rave reviews on Yelp – I would give them 5! I will be hunting them down in the near future. This food truck concept is exploding in our city – and their food is living up to the hype. Just a quick post to say- if you ever see Super Q Food Truck driving down your street- FOLLOW IT and give it a try! You will NOT be disappointed!

http://www.superqfoodtruck.com/bbq/

Leave a Reply

