Tomato Basil Spaghetti Squash Bake

Last weekend I had the girls over for a girls night. Since I have a serious obsession with fall (despite still being in the 90s here), I wanted to make a fall dish. More specifically, I wanted to try out a spaghetti squash recipe, as that seems to be the big craze these days. In between looking at fall scenes, girls night ideas, and autumn dishes on Pinterest, I found something that piqued my interest: a Tomato Basil Squash Bake. I must say, it was a total hit with my friends and my boyfriend. I had to share this with anyone who is looking to try a little Fall recipe. The best part? Not too many ingredients, and easy to make!! DSC_0753

Tomato Basil Squash Bake

Ingredients 1 medium-sized spaghetti squash 2 large tomatoes (I would recommend using 3 if you like tomatoes) Kosher Salt Garlic Powder Onion Powder 8oz of Fancy shredded Mexican cheese blend Fresh Basil

First you need to cook the squash. I would recommend baking it in the oven, but if you are in a rush, I read you can cook it in the microwave in less than half the time. If you are baking it whole, punch holes in the squash with a fork so it doesn’t burst in the oven. Place on a cookie sheet and bake for an hour at 350 degrees.

Once baked, cut squash in half and let it cool. Once cool, remove the seeds and scrape the contents of the squash with a fork. (This was a new experience for me- and I had no idea how much “spaghetti” would come from just one squash!).

DSC_0755

Good news- the hardest part is over! Spray a 9×11 casserole dish with non-stick spray. Next, place a layer of the squash in the dish, so the bottom is covered. Then evenly distribute the tomato slices on top of the squash, followed by a little kosher salt, garlic & onion powders, and a layer of cheese. Repeat once more with the layer of squash, tomatoes, spices and cheese. For the top layer, add the remainder of the squash, along with the last of the cheese and the spices. Once you are done layering up, its time to pop it in the oven! DSC_0757 Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Top with fresh basil once complete, and this delicious crowd pleaser is ready to be served! DSC_0763 The next time I make this I plan on using artichokes and possibly chicken, because I am an artichoke fiend! I hope you enjoy this dish, and would love to hear from you! Happy Autumn to all!!

3 thoughts on “Tomato Basil Spaghetti Squash Bake

Leave a Reply

