Saturday Stroll in Cardiff

One of the many advantages of living in Southern California is the opportunity to be outside often, and enjoy the breathtaking coastal views. The ocean has always been therapeutic to me, and I jump at the chance to be near the beach whenever possible. I love to take in the sound of the waves, the smell of the sea air and watch the passersby.  If you are looking for something different to do on a weekend morning, let me suggest a little pleasant stroll along the coast in North County. Brady and I have created somewhat of a weekend tradition for ourselves which I look forward to, which I feel obligated to share because it is always nice to see new scenery and have time to think, so maybe you will like it too!

DSC_0961

We usually start by heading to the ever-popular Pipes Cafe, where the prices are cheap and the portions are huge. One scramble plate is enough to feed two. I love the fact that you can see the ocean from its busy porch, and listen to the trains intermittently chug by. Today, we switched up our routine, ordered our food to go and took a stroll across the tracks to Bull Taco at the San Elijo campground. The campground literally sits right atop the cliffs overlooking the sea, and it is breathtaking! It’s days like this where I feel extremely lucky to live in San Diego. Thanksgiving is almost a week away, and its 70 degrees outside!

If you are feeling really adventurous or pensive, take a walk from Encinitas all the way down to Solana Beach, either on the beach itself or along the 101 with a lot of other people walking their dogs and enjoying the sights. A few weeks ago, Brady and I hit up another popular breakfast spot in Encinitas which I would recommend to anyone: Pannikin Coffee & Tea, in an old quaint yellow building from the 1900s. Great coffee, great quiche and an abundance of pies to pick from! Afterwards we took a walk from Encinitas to Cardiff. We stopped at a lookout spot at the famous Swami’s beach, where I got the chance to reflect about a lot of things, and take in the gorgeous view.

Anyways, I just wanted to share with you a great idea to get outside and think about life. I always feel refreshed with a clear head after walks like these. Enjoy your Saturday everyone, and I hope you enjoying our weather and are excited for Thanksgiving coming up!

Leave a Reply

